Transcription Policy, Copyright and Acknowledgements


Our aim has been to transcribe each letter accurately without attempting to reproduce on the page the appearance of the manuscript. We have therefore standardized the layout. Each letter has been headed by the recipient’s full name at the time of writing, and the source of the text. Additional information, if available, about the manuscript, the paper and envelope has been added in a footnote. The address has been reduced to one line and left-aligned, although it may have been right-aligned or centred and written over three or four lines in the original. Likewise the date has been reduced to one line and missing information added in square brackets. In the body of the letter the use of insertion marks, deleted text and other information about the appearance of the manuscript has been kept to a minimum, and included only when indispensable to the understanding of the letter. Superscript letters have not been used. Double quotation marks have been avoided where possible. It should be noted that in her correspondence Yonge habitually used such spellings as ‘honor’ and ‘favor’, not used now in British English. A space has been routinely added to separate the signature from the body of the letter. No punctuation has been added, except in brackets occasionally to help the sense. However, Yonge’s lavish use of dashes of various sizes and positions is inaccurately reproduced by typography, and we have therefore sometimes interpreted them as commas and stops. Some paragraphing is editorial.


The text of Yonge’s unpublished manuscripts is out of copyright, but the compilation, the annotation and the textual, editorial, and introductory matter are the copyright of the editors, whose work should be acknowledged in any quotation or reproduction of this work.


We acknowledge with gratitude the permission we have received from the owners of manuscripts to transcribe and publish them, and the enormous help and many kindnesses we have received from these and other librarians, archivists and private individuals over many years. We apologise if we have overlooked any cases and would like to be informed of any omissions from the following list so we may correct it.

Manuscripts from the Plymouth and West Devon Record Office appear by courtesy of Mr Richard Yonge and we thank the archivist, Anne Morgan, and her colleagues. References to Charlotte Yonge’s bank account appear by courtesy of the partners of Hoare’s Bank. We acknowledge gratefully the courtesy of the following people and institutions in allowing us to publish their manuscripts: Mrs Julia Birley; the late Rosemary, Viscountess Chaplin; Madame Catherine Coste and the Fondation Guizot Val-Richer; the Rev. Canon Geoffrey Curtis; Miss Barbara Dennis; Mrs Philip Drazin; Mrs Caroline Fairclough; Miss Sarah Jardine-Willoughby; Mrs Tig Lang; Dr Charlotte Mitchell; Mr John Purvis; Mrs Clare Roels; Mrs Helen Schinske; Miss Mary Shakeshaft; Dr Susan Walton; Miss Miranda Wenaus; Mrs Katharine Wykes-Sneyd; the Society of Antiquaries of London; the Archives Nationales, Paris; the Seymour Public Library, Auburn; Auckland City Library; the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, University of Texas, Austin; the University of Birmingham Library; the Oratory, Birmingham; the Birmingham Reference Library; the Bodleian Library, University of Oxford; Brigham Young University Library; the British Library; the John Hay Library, Brown University; the Poetry Collection of the University of Buffalo; Cambridge University Library; the members of the Charlotte Yonge Society; the Cheltenham Ladies’ College; Cheshire Record Office; the Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Columbia University in the City of New York; the Library of Congress; the University of Delaware Library; Essex Record Office; the Trustees of the Exeter Municipal Charities for the material in Devon Record Office; Edinburgh University Library, Special Collections Department; Eton College Library; Ewelme Cottage Museum, Auckland; the Syndics of the Fitzwilliam Museum; Girton College, Cambridge; Gloucestershire Archives; the Guildhall Library; Hampshire Record Office; Hertfordshire Record Office; the Historical Society of Pennsylvania; the Houghton Library, Harvard University; the Huntington Library; University of Iowa Library; University of Illinois Library; Special Collections, Spencer Research Library, University of Kansas Libraries; Keble College, Oxford; Theatrewissenschaftliche Sammlung Schloss Wahn, Universität zu Köln; Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford; the Trustees of Lambeth Palace Library; the Brotherton Library, University of Leeds; Liverpool University Library; the Senate House Library, University of London; John Rylands University Library, University of Manchester; Manchester Central Library; Michigan State University Library; the Mitchell Library, State Library of New South Wales; the New York Public Library; the Fales Collection, New York University; Norfolk Record Office; Northumberland Record Office; Nottinghamshire Archives; the Provost and Fellows of Oriel College, Oxford; Pennsylvania State University; the Parrish Collection, Princeton University Library; Pembroke College, Oxford; the Pierpont Morgan Library; the Principal and Chapter, Pusey House, Oxford; University of Reading, Special Collections; the Royal Academy Archives; the Royal Institution; the National Library of Scotland; the Shakespeare Centre Library and Archive; Sheffield University Library; King Edward VI School, Southampton; the Department of Special Collections and University Archives, Stanford University Libraries; the Royal College of Surgeons; Surrey History Centre; the Taylor Institution Library; the University of Tennessee Library; Torquay Museum; Toronto University Library; Trinity College, Cambridge; the Alexander Turnbull Library, Wellington; the Charles E. Young Research Library, UCLA; Victoria University Library, Wellington; Special Collections, University of Virginia Library; the National Library of Wales; Waterloo University Library; Devon Library and Information Services for the manuscripts held in the Westcountry Studies Library, Exeter; the City of Westminster Archives Centre; West Sussex Record Office; Winchester City Council Museums Service; Winchester College; the Women’s Library, London Metropolitan University; and the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University Library.

In working for so long on so complicated a project we have also incurred innumerable debts of gratitude to fellow scholars, Yonge enthusiasts and local historians for advice, support and information. Many descendants of Yonge’s acquaintances replied courteously to letters from complete strangers. We would particularly like to thank Mr Richard Awdry; the late Mrs Georgina Battiscombe; Ms Alys Blakeway; Mrs Philip Cazenove; Mrs Hilary Clare; Dr Julia Courtney; Miss Amy de Gruchy; Mr Anthony Edwards; Dr Jim Endersby; the late Miss Lyle Eveillé; Mrs Jane Falloon; Mrs Jean Fort; Dr Shirley Foster; the late Miss Alethea Hayter; the Reverend Andrew Henderson; Mr Dennis Hickman; Dr Arnold Hunt; Miss Lila Hunt; Miss Pamela Hunter; Dr Matthew Ingleby, Sister Joan Elizabeth of St. Mary’s Wantage; Professor Sally Mitchell; Mrs Noel Monier-Williams; Mr Alan Rands; Mr Henry Rands; Dr Clemence Schultze; Dr Alison Shell; Mrs Jean Shell; Mr Michael Southgate; Mr Barrie Spratt; Mrs Christine Spratt; Dr Leslee Thorne-Murphy; Mrs Delia Twamley; and Mr Jim Woollcombe.

Charlotte Mitchell
Ellen Jordan
Helen Schinske


Inkar Alshimbayeva
Mowlid ASkar
Navid Faramarzian
Ralfas Jegorovas
Giang Nguyen
Guldana Nurakayeva
Zeinab Sarmadi